Reply To: Questions & Answers

Welcome Forums Community Forum Questions & Answers Reply To: Questions & Answers

Chris

Debbie, I haven’t been on the site in a while, but I just read your post, and I want to thank you for the links. They are very helpful. Next week I will be 7 months post surgery for my lateral TPF requiring one plate and 5 screws. My labrador retriever crashed into my leg causing the fracture. Even though I am a physical therapist, I had never treated a TPF fracture. So this has been a very humbling and eye opening journey for me.

I returned to work mid December. I have full ROM in my knee, but I would probably guess my injured leg is about 40% as strong as my other leg. I still noticeably limp, and I have difficulty stabilizing my leg going up/down stairs. If I have been sitting or driving for more than 20 minutes my legs are stiff and wobbly when I try to walk for the first few steps. I walk like a 90 year old man when I wake up! I recently had a retired orthopedic surgeon as a patient, and we talked extensively about my fracture. He was very blunt with me as to the severity of this injury long term saying I may never fully recover from this or return to the activities I enjoyed prior to my fracture. The more I learn about this injury, the one thing I keep telling myself is to be patient. Give yourself at least a year to gauge where you are in your recovery. I know I haven’t worked on my recovery as hard as I should recently as I try to work my job as a PT as much as I can to make up for the 4 months without a paycheck.