Recovery from tibia plateau after surgery

Welcome Forums Community Forum Recovery from tibia plateau after surgery

• Creator
    Topic
  • #110450 Reply
    Claire

Hi there,

I’m new to all this forum thing but here goes…

I broke my tibia pleateu in August. It was a compressed fracture requiring surgery with pins and plates.

I am still recovering and have struggled with crutches and after a few months of using a zima frame and hopping around. I’m now at a slow walking pace with crutches and are juat beginning to use one crutch in the house and a few steps with nothing occasionally when im feeling confident and can bypass anxiety related to my injury. I have good days and bad days where my leg aches, feels tired or clicks on and off continually. I’m worried about how long my recovery will take as it seems never ending and was wondering if anyone else has had similar experiences?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
    • #110471 Reply
      Steve

Hi all

I’m 1 year on from a 5 metre fall at work spent 12 days in hospital 6 of them in intensive care I broke 4 ribs punctured a lung and a plateau fracture tibia leading into a medial and lateral fracture my right leg had surgery to repair now have 8 screws and plate and done 6 weeks of physio but 1 year on and I’m still in pain and cant straighten my leg fully and walk with a limp think the pains down to my job on my feet all day up and down ladders is not good going hospital today to get it checked hopefully find out what’s wrong

• #110461 Reply
      Jimmy

It’s been a bit since I got on here to read up on everyone.